Otuoma Wins Busia Gubernatorial Race

The Independent Electoral and Boundary Commission (IEBC) has declared the former Funyula Member of Parliament Dr. Paul Otuoma as Busia governor elect.
Busia County Elections Returning Officer Lazarus Chebii declared Otuoma for the post after he garnered 164,478 votes against his closest opponent Nambale MP John Bunyasi of ANC who got 92,144 votes.
Otuoma contested the race in 2017 but lost to the outgoing governor Sospeter Ojaamong who has conceded defeat after losing Teso South parliamentary seat that was won by UDA MP elect Mary Emaase.
Speaking to the local residents after being declared a winner, Otuoma thanked the local residents for voting overwhelmingly in his favour.
“I will not betray the trust and confidence you have bestowed on me,” he said lauding them for maintaining peace during the campaign period.
He noted that the County has lagged behind in terms of development especially the health sector which needed to be fixed.
“We will streamline the civil service in the County and ensure that there is no discrimination,” he said adding that his leadership will establish an advisory and economic council with a view to involve local residents in the County’s development.
Bunyasi however expressed dissatisfaction with the electoral exercise claiming that it was marred with threats and intimidation.
“There has also been chaos and even killings especially in Budalangi constituency,” he claimed.
He further alleged that some government officials were directed to support his closest opponent which is against the law.
“Bribery has also been experienced across the county,” he said adding that he will only accept the results if the process is duly followed.
In the Senate position, Andrew Okiya Omtata of National Reconstruction Alliance Party was declared a winner after trouncing his closest opponent Hillary Itela of ODM. Omtata garnered a total of 171,681 votes against Itela’s 59,276 hence becoming Busia Senator elect.
Catherine Nakhabi Omanyo was declared the County Woman Member of the National Assembly elect after garnering 129,710 votes against her closest opponent Susan Mangeni’s (UDA) 48,197.
Otuoma, Omtata and Omanyo become the second governor, senator and woman representative respectively after Sospeter Ojaamong, Amos Wako and Florence Mutua served their two terms.

Source: Kenya News Agency

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *